About Us

The Platte Valley Arts Council is a non-profit corporation located in Carbon County, south central Wyoming. Established in 1993, the Platte Valley Arts Council has over twenty years of experience developing and implementing cultural programs. The organization plays a vital role in the communities of Saratoga, Encampment and Riverside by providing events and projects that increase the quality of life and economic stability of the Upper North Platte River Valley in southeastern Wyoming. 

The council is well-known in the state for its excellence (having won the prestigious Governor’s Art Award in 1997) and fortitude. The renowned “Platte Valley Festival of the Arts” was produced for eighteen years and included a juried Fine Art Show, Fine Craft Show, Children’s Art Workshop, cowboy poetry, book readings, musical entertainment, artist quick draw and auction and a Patron Gala. 

Each year, three scholarships are awarded to area high school students who demonstrate a life-long involvement in the Arts. The Gabe Springsteen Memorial Scholarship is named for the very first recipient of the scholarship.

Partnerships have been established with the Saratoga Middle/High and Elementary schools, and Encampment K-12 Schools, Platte Valley Community Center, the Saratoga Museum and Grand Encampment Museum, and the Encampment Community Choir. The PVAC has also collaborated with the Saratoga/Platte Valley Chamber of Commerce and other not-for-profit organizations in the area.


Alyson Sneddon, President

Shannon Fagan, Vice President

Stacy Crimmins, Treasurer

Mary Martin, Secretary

Emma Diercks, Director

Susan Dyer, Director

Heidi Larson, Director

Open Position, Director

Open Position, Director

Rachel Swanson, Executive Assistant